"Camel" No. 217, an original locomotive built by the Baltimore & Ohio's Mount Clare Shops in 1873, was displayed at the Century of Progress when the Wickham family visited. Designed by J. C. Davis, the "camel" owes its humped design to the need to place the cab over the boiler because of the large firebox. The fireman had to do his work from the unsheltered rear of the locomotive. The "camelback" locomotive was similarly constructed, except that the engineer's cab occupied only the middle part of the boiler. Camelbacks were used principally, though not exclusively, by some eastern railroads, and a few locomotives of that type operated almost to the end of the steam era in commuter service on the Central Railroad of New Jersey.
No. 217, of the 4-6-0 wheel arrangement, is preserved at the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Museum. She weighs 129,100 pounds, and her 65-pound-per-square-inch boiler pressure, combined with 19x22-inch cylinders and 50-inch drivers, produces 8,775 pounds of tractive force. At the time of the Century of Progress, at least, she was in operating condition. The locomotive was damaged when the roof of the unique roundhouse-museum collapsed under the weight of snow on February 17, 2003, but the damage has since been repaired. No. 217 bears the name of Ross Winans, a Baltimore inventor who patented railroad wheel bearings and experimented with early railroad equipment. Winans became the B&O's Assistant Engineer of Machinery at the Mount Clare Shops.